It is Saturday, it is also payday so, do you know what that means…I get to go SHOPPING!I get on the Anteater Express and head over to the Irvine Spectrum. I go into every store, browsing at first then, if something catches my eye I grab it before someone else gets their hands on it. As I am walking around, going into the different stores I notice the style trend that is going on, floral print dresses, over-the-shoulder shirts, ripped jeans. It is safe to say that I tend to buy clothes that are appealing to my eyes and that I can see myself wearing not so much the trends or the brands. Don’t get me wrong the brand items are very cute articles of clothing but fifty dollars just for a pair of pants, honey, no thank you. I tend to lean towards the clearance section of every store and I look for the best deal. I walk in with a wallet full of cash and walk out with H&M, Forever 21, Tillys, and Abercrombie & Fitch bags around my arms and there is a feeling of complete every time I go shopping.

I have the luxury of going shopping and having the pieces of clothing made for me to just grab, pay, and go.

During the Inca Empire, clothing is what classified your stance in the empire. The Incas (kings) wore images.jpegelaborate uncus (tunics), the more elaborate it was the higher and
wealthier that Inca was. The more similar to one another were they belonged to the lower classes, like the peasants and natives of the region. These 
uncus were handmade, depending on who they were for. The fabric was made from scratch, wool that was taken from the alpacas and llamas of the land but, the finest cloth was saved for the Inca. Through clothing, the peasants knew who their king was but the Spaniards arrived wearing tights, blouse-like, buttons, silver swords, and leather shoes. The Spaniards who wore these outfits were well respected in Spain and the trend made the Incas confused. In addition to the Incas being confused, 08878-0001-det_-1.jpgthe Spaniards did not know that clothing mattered to the Incas. The Spaniards classified the highest of the Incas (kings) as a peasant. The reason behind is that the Spaniards were the epitome of western Europe, with new technology, domesticated animals, and modern warfare. It is still up for debate whether the western modernity gave them an upper hand in the conquest of the Incan Empire.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Fast forward to Gandhi’s time, clothing was a part of his political stance by contributing to the Real Awakening and the Swadeshi Movement. According to Gandhi, swadeshi is interpreted as, ‘swa’ meaning ‘self’ and ‘deshi’ meaning ‘home’ or ‘country’, put the words together it makes ‘self-country’. This movement is a protest against the  British partition of India, in which Hindu can vote Hindu on the west of India and Muslim can vote Muslim on the east. To make India Self- reliant or self-sufficient by burning the clothing made from Britain and making their own clothing. The burning of the clothing symbolizes the resistance to the western colonization.images-1.jpeg

The main motto of Swadeshi, “Let’s burn English cloth together!”

History shows evidence that buying clothes is keeping the fashion empires on top and depending on where you are buying the clothing from is what classifies your stance in society and the clothing line’s stance between the other empires.


 

