As the year is coming to an end, and time to move out of the dorms has come, I have noticed how much stuff I have acquired through the school year. Currently, my room is filled with stuffed bags and boxes that are overflowing, there’s a downside to where my dorm room is located…it is on the third floor in a hall with no elevator! As more and more people are moving out I have also noticed that women are not the ones helping my hallmates move their stuff.

In the yearlong course of Humanities Core, we talked about women being the chaotic and overly- emotional. In the Aeneid, the women in the book like, Dido (the Queen of Carthage) was given the role of an overly dramatic who fell in love where love is a weakness. There was talk about the objectification of women

 

For example, Zarrin (Women without Men) had been a prostitute, selling her body, in a brothel. She had a customer but when he turned around he had no face. His facelessness represents the dehumanized male who objectifies Zarin as a sex object. Zarrin is seen weak and vulnerable because the public ‘disregards’ her as a purified woman.

These examples represent the different way women played a role in an empire and Mexican traditional patriarchy follows a similar pattern of the role of men versus women. For Mexican families, the male is known to bring in the income of the household while the woman cleans, prepares food, and stays at home.

According to my grandmother, she was always working in the kitchen of her house since she was a little girl. She then got married at the age of eighteen and continued to work in the kitchen later a ‘bun in the oven’ arrived and there was another chore to uphold. The tasks became harder when she started a family first it was only going to be three kids but that led to having seven kids in total. Due to society, it was better to have more boys because it means there will be more income and more girls mean there will be fewer chores around the house. My grandmother gave birth to five girls and two boys. The girls were put to work around the house since they were able to walk. During family dinners, I often hear my aunts banter at my uncles,

“You have had it easy, not having to wash everyone’s dish, wash your own clothes, or even cook for yourself”.

In more recent years, we see women are able to provide for themselves and their family and a perfect example is my mother. She was given to play both roles: the income-maker and household duties. Although she has been doing both roles for about ten years, she has always done her best to provide for her family.  Yes, she did have three girls (I am the middle child) which my sisters and I fall in the category of upholding household duties. My mother has taught us the basics of the household duties so that it is not as much of a burden for her when she gets home from work. Even then, after a long, tiring day at work, she continues to keep all her duties accomplished.

Though the duties are tough to keep up with, they are skills that are helpful in the long-run. For instance, coming to college those skills were put to the test; keeping my room clean, cooking and maintaining a healthy schedule. Many mothers and fathers are no longer falling into the traditional patriarchal stigma.

